Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Running Processing
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Running Processing Post 9809 by jacobsa on Saturday 3rd of November 2001 11:42:07 AM
Old 11-03-2001
Running Processing

Hello,

I have a question about running processes on my Sun. I want to know how I can find where these threads are being spawned from. I know about the /etc/init and /etc/rc#.d directories and how to stop some services from running. It does not seem as if all of the daemons that are started are here, for example sendmail, where in sol 8 tells the sendmail daemon to run and details the switches to execute when it starts... I am new to Solaris, did experiment with Linux, which I think is a little clearer.. Any help will be appreciated.

-AJ

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to prevent job1 from running while job2 is running..

Hi, Please I need your expert advise on how to prevent/lock from execution job1 while job2 is still running in Unix... THanks:) (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tikang
3 Replies

2. Solaris

Running from Shell Vs running from RC script

Hi, i have a script which need to do behave differently when run as a startup process from init.d/ rc2.d script and when run manually from shell. How do i distinguish whether my script is run by init process or by shell?? Will the command /proc/$$/psinfo | grep "myscript" work well???... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vickylife
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File processing

Hi, I have file having 10 coloumns in each row. I need to remove those line which does not have 10 coloumns, like if a row has more than 10 coloumns then remove that line similalry if the row has less than 10 coloumns then remove that line. File1.txt 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: siba.s.nayak
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running Total Running Wild