Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Passwords in /etc/shadow file Post 97565 by Perderabo on Tuesday 31st of January 2006 03:56:06 PM
Old 01-31-2006
I'm not a crypto expert, but I have to say that I am not convinced that md5 hashes constitute a successful replacement to the standard unix password hash. Before md5, we had md2 and md4 both of which failed to live up to their promises. In this paper, Collisions for Hash Functions MD4, MD5, HAVAL-128 and RIPEMD demonstrate collisions for md5. It's especially jarring that they can find a collision for md4 by hand, no computer needed. And Bruce Snieder checks in with Opinion: Cryptanalysis of MD5 and SHA: Time for a new standard. On the other hand, it may be that stuff like md5 is unusually strong when hashing a very short string like a password. But I'm reluctant to use a new algorithm until it has proven itself for awhile.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shadow file

Sirs, What is a shadow file,How it be usefull.For my project i have to keep the password in shawdow file also i am doing in php how can i do it. Thanks in advance, ArunKumar (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: arunkumar_mca
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

shadow file

what does 'x' in the encrypted password field in /etc/shaodw file represent? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jbashir
3 Replies

3. Programming

Shadow Passwords

I'm writing a 'C' program on various systems (HP-UX, Solaris, AIX, NCR) which needs to interact with a user's password. Some of my systems are using the shadow password and some are not. It is possible for some of my systems to have /etc/shadow, even though the box is not using the file (I know,... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: chrisc@nwark.ne
4 Replies

4. Solaris

*LK* in /etc/shadow file

my etc/shadow file showing *LK* for a particular user.. can u tell me under which circumstances a user is locked (5 Replies)