Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extracting fields from an output 8-) Post 96466 by aigles on Friday 20th of January 2006 07:37:38 AM
Old 01-20-2006
You can also use 'cut'

year=`echo 2006/01/18 | cut -d/ -f1`
month=`echo 2006/01/18 | cut -d/ -f2`
day=`echo 2006/01/18 | cut -d/ -f3`

But, i think tah the better solution is Vino post

echo 2006/01/18 | IFS=/ read year month day

Jean-Pierre.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Extracting information from text fields.

Dear friends, I'm a novice Unix user and I'm trying to learn the ropes. I have a big task I have to accomplish and I'm convinced Unix can get the job done, I just haven't figured out how. I recently posted on the topic of cutting text between unique text patterns and somebody helped me a great... (24 Replies)
Discussion started by: spindoctor
24 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting fields

Hi, i have a line with several fields (indefinite number of - count varies) separated by colon. Now, i need to pick each field (except the first one) and have it assigned to variable within a loop. In other words, in the first iteration of the loop, the variable must be assigned with 2nd... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: prvnrk
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting records with unique fields from a fixed width txt file

Greetings, I would like to extract records from a fixed width text file that have unique field elements. Data is structured like this: John A Smith NY Mary C Jones WA Adam J Clark PA Mary Jones WA Fieldname / start-end position Firstname 1-10... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: sitney
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing LF and extracting two fields