Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting rsh script with inside a for loop Post 96457 by Perderabo on Friday 20th of January 2006 06:10:41 AM
Old 01-20-2006
For one thing, try this:
$ xyz=hello
$ echo "xyz = $xyz"
xyz = hello
$
Shells look inside double quoted strings and replace variables. Your variable $ptscluster will be replaced before your local shell even locates the rsh command. This doesn't explain why you're not looping, but I'm not a csh expert. You should put scripts in an executable file, not in an argument to a command line. Once you use something like "rsh host ./remoteloop", all of the problems will vanish. Make sure you have a line like "#! /usr/bin/csh" in your remoteloop file. Note that you can create remoteloop locally, rcp it into place, chmod it, run it, and then remove it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

rsh command in a while loop

Hi , reading a "file1" with 2 data in each line (VAR1 and VAR2) , i'm using a while loop like this : cat file1|awk '{print $1,$2}'|while read VAR1 VA2 do echo $VAR1 echo $VAR2 done as this example shows , it works but if between do and done i use a "rsh" command , the script reads... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nicol
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

rsh and for loop

hi I wanted to use the for loop structure in tandem with rsh command and the result to be redirected into a local .lst file within a shell script . Tried the following but does not help :confused: . rsh ABCD "cd /bosp/local/home/linus/;for i in `ls -ltr | grep ^- | awk {'print $9'}` do... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: newbee2005
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

rsh breaking me out of loop