Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Directory list inside a directory Post 95187 by Gotrain on Monday 9th of January 2006 01:05:21 AM
Old 01-09-2006
How do I create file in directory?

I am creating scripts and I need to create a $HOME/bin directory. I know I should create a seprate file for testing but I'll do that next.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Replacing text inside a directory

This is my first post to this group.I am new to Unix.I have one requirement I need to replace a text in all the files in a directory and sub-directory.Eg i have a folder structure like /usr/local/abc , inside abc i have several directories and several files. All the files inside abc and all the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vatsan
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to see directory and the files inside it.

Hi Expert, How can i able to see the directory and the files inside the directories. Is it possible, please suggest. Thanks shaan (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shaan_dmp
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Directory inside directory problem

hii, I have to create a directory under the same directory with the date +%a extension like this BackupLocation=$BackupLocation/$BackupLocation$(date +%w) but the problem is --- if backuplocation is abc/dfg then accroding to the above statement it would be abc/dfg/abc/dfg5 but i... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: namishtiwari
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

searching files inside directory

hey, i need to use grep to search a bunch of header files inside a directory to return which file i can find the function i'm searching for in. how do i use wild cards to search through the files? i can only figure out how to search inside the directory, not inside the files that are in the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kylethesir
4 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers