Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to delete away text in a file? Post 95062 by forevercalz on Friday 6th of January 2006 05:36:54 AM
Old 01-06-2006
thanks Smilie however i need to put this in a script so i try to write this down:

`sed -e 's_^.\{,2\}:.\{,2\}:.\{,2\} .*<pregate_<pregate_g' p.txt > sample.modified`

however i get this msg :
sed: command garbled: s_^.\{,2\}:.\{,2\}:.\{,2\} .*<pregate_<pregate_g

sorry as im still new to scripting....

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete last line from text file

I have a file with which i must remove the last line of the file (the footer). I know how to copy and redirect with tail -1 etc, but how do i delete it permanentely (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: hcclnoodles
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete first line from any text file ?

What command I can use to delete first line from any text file ? Thk (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: aungomarin
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to delete a particular text without opening the file.

Hi, Could someone tell me how to delete a particular text inside an existing file without opening the file? e.g. I have a text file called mytext.txt which contains three lines of text below and I want to delete “ ;” and delete the second line “b ;” including the carriage return. a ; b ; c ;... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: stevefox
12 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Delete line in text file

Hi, How do I go about deleting a line in a text file. I have used grep to find a particlular word, now how do I delete the line? so far I got: grep -i $keyword file.txt (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Berserk
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete block of text in one file based on list in another file