Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: running commands from script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting running commands from script Post 94897 by owijust on Wednesday 4th of January 2006 02:10:54 PM
Old 01-04-2006
Question running dirs command from script

I'm new to unix and I have a fairly simple problem:

Lets say I am in a specific directory and I run the command: "dirs" ,

I get an output of all the folders that i pushed into the stack (as expected),
buut,
when when I create a script (called test):
Code:
#! /bin/csh

dirs

and then i run: ./test

It outputs only the last directory that I pushed into the stack (as opposed to the whole stack).For some reason the Script does'nt recognize the stack that I have in the prompt.

whyyy?? Pleeaase help

Last edited by owijust; 01-04-2006 at 03:45 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

running script in cron - with ssh commands - not working

I ran an ssh command to run a script on a remote server ssh -l <user> <servername> /path/to/script/scriptname This works fine - and the script is executed correctly. However - I put this command into a script, that I want to run from cron every hour, to execute the file on the remote... (31 Replies)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
31 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

running a simple script file with multiple commands

I'm trying to run a script file with multiple commands that I would normally type into the command line. The commands are: #!/bin/bash diff Test1.o0 /usr3/ronelso4/Desktop/verificationKPC/Test1.o0 > differences2 diff Test1a.o0 /usr3/ronelso4/Desktop/verificationKPC/Test1a.o0 >> differences2... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: knelson
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running multiple unix commands in a single script