Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Simple Bash Script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Simple Bash Script Post 93628 by reborg on Tuesday 20th of December 2005 08:13:34 PM
Old 12-20-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by xaphalanx
I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but as I am new to bash shell scripting I'm not sure what:

Here's the code

webalizer.conf is sitting in the same directory as this file which is named webalizer.sh. Can someone tell me if I've got the syntax right -- it that's correct? I'm executing the file as root with sh ./webalizer.sh. webalizer -c file file executes correctly when I manually insert the variable values. The goal is to get this to run through cron.

Thanks!
Your script assumes webalizer is in the path, it may not be for this script; use the full path. Also that is not the correct way to run a script, in this case it will work becasue you've used bourne syntax, but in general using sh will only work correctly for an sh script, make the script executable and run it directly.

Also since this is a launch script I could consider using "exec" at the start of the last line, once it's launched you only need the webalizer process,not the script.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple BASH script?

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum so forgive me if I'm sounding ... daft. I currently work in a Tech Support role. Every day we have to generate data by running around 10 .sh scripts. I was thinking instead of having to ./filename 10 times is it possible to right a new script that will run these for... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: JayC89
16 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple bash script