Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to output the results of the AT command - properly! Post 91393 by SpanishPassion on Thursday 1st of December 2005 07:08:18 PM
Old 12-01-2005
How to output the results of the AT command - properly!

Hi,

I am new to UNIX and I am more used to simple commands like those in VMS.

One of them is the ability to get the output from a job using the /out=<file> command in VMS.

I want to submit a job (a set of unix commands) using the AT command but to get the output in a file like that used in VMS.

Now I know many of you are saying, "just redirect it using the '>' character'. I tried this and it's not producing what I expected. I don't think it's as simple as that.

For example (the qdesign command is a powerhouse (COGNOS) command, and not a unix command).

Here is my BAT file ...

#!/bin/csh

/bin/date

################################################################
# Recompile global QUICK screens, for Sydney
qdesign dict=/mis/sydmips/obj/phd.pdc << 'flag1'
use /mis/sydmips/obj/compilemips.qks nolist
exit
'flag1'

I've tried submitting this with ...

$ at -c -f compile.bat now > compile.out

I get only the line that says it submitted the command

$ echo compile.out | at -c -m now

I get an email to say that it was "run", but no standard output of the BAT file!

$ at -c -m now < compile.bat

Again I get a job number, an email to say it ran but no actual output.

How do I get actual output from the compile.bat routine, like as if I was running it online!?

Thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

lvm_queryvg call does not work properly and results in a sudden memory rise.

On AIX 5.3 host, the lvm_queryvg call does not work properly and results in a sudden memory rise. This is happening on one particular host and the call works fine on another host. Is this a known issue and is there any patch available for this? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandiworld
0 Replies