Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: simple scripting question
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting simple scripting question Post 9135 by gennaro on Tuesday 23rd of October 2001 08:59:44 AM
Old 10-23-2001
simple scripting question

I am new to scropting and I am just trying to work on a few simple things....
Using sh I want to do something similar to the follwoing run a simple command like a dig then I want it to get the server that it is authorotative and return it to me saying somehting like xx.xx is authorotative. I am not getting how to make it check the results and return a specific part to me how do I make it check the results it recieved and return a specific part of the results to me does this make sense? Is it possible. This is only an example of somethign I am trying to do I understand how to make it so that if a particualr event is true then do this but I dont understand how to make it check to see if that particualr even is present does this make sense let me know.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with simple scripting actions

Hi, I am a beginner in unix shell scripting. I wanted simple information like 1- How to know what are the number of command line options given for the script file? 2- How to check if a variable value is interger or string? 3- How to use awk to replace value of a variable For example I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nads
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Ok simple question for simple knowledge...

Ok what is BSD exactly? I know its a type of open source but what is it exactly? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Corrail
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

HELP me PLS... Simple Scripting!

this is my script.... SQL> select * from dba_profiles 2 where resource_name in ('FAILED_LOGIN_ATTEMPTS','PASSWORD_LOCK_TIME') 3 order by profile; and this is the output... PROFILE RESOURCE_NAME RESOURCE... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: liezer