Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Can not test many arguments
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Can not test many arguments Post 90096 by Niyati on Friday 18th of November 2005 07:02:29 AM
Old 11-18-2005
Hi Baton,

Sometimes single [ doesn't work with this many conditions. Normally it works but i have faced issue sometime, so to be on safer side i always use [[ in any condition.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

can't TEST multiple arguments for a file

Hi, I'm new to scripting and teaching myself how to code. Using Korn, I coded this one return "True" if a file is executable and it's not empty. However, each time I pass a file that is 777 which contains data, the script returns "false". if then echo "true" else echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cruiser
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test on string containing spacewhile test 1 -eq 1 do read a $a if test $a = quitC then break fi d

This is the code: while test 1 -eq 1 do read a $a if test $a = stop then break fi done I read a command on every loop an execute it. I check if the string equals the word stop to end the loop,but it say that I gave too many arguments to test. For example echo hello. Now the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Max89
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check weather a string is like test* or test* ot *test* in if condition

How to check weather a string is like test* or test* ot *test* in if condition (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnjerome
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test - too many arguments

How do I prevent the message "too many arguments" to appear when using this script? name="one two three four five six seven" if test $name="" then echo "Empty variable" else echo "Value assigned" fi output: bash: test: too many arguments Value assigned (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: locoroco
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting