Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: unix automatic file transfer
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users unix automatic file transfer Post 89470 by tagem on Sunday 13th of November 2005 02:30:08 PM
Old 11-13-2005
Question unix automatic file transfer

Hello,
I am a beginner with korn shell scripting. I have got a text file that gets produced every night and I need to transfer it to a windows shared area.
Is there any command line script (e.g FTP) that I could use to transfer the file automatically without manual intervention everyday?
Any ideas will be very much appreciated

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

File transfer from unix to NT box?

Is there a method to transfer a file from UNIX (AIX) to an NT box without the NT box having any special software running? I can ping the box via the network and I have a valid NT account to use. Is FTP a viable solution ? HELP! (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: jvacc
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

unix to winnt file transfer

how to pass files from unix to windows nt?help (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: srinivasanvs
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl scirpt for automatic file transfer

Hi , can any one help me with a perl script for automating file transfer ? At each step i need to check for the success or failure . I am trying to connect to the target system for a specified number of times.if it doesnt connect even after 3 retries then the script should exit. and i have to... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: sveera
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Transfer FILE from UNIX to WIN2000/XP

it's possible make a transfer file with a remote command from UNIX SYSTEM to another computer with WIN2000/XP ??? ex.(rsh,ssh ecc.....????) now i use FTP program or telnet connection but ,i find a solution for execute a transfre file in to shell script UNIX (sh or ksh) from windows system (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ZINGARO
2 Replies