Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help needed - Replacing all date & time occurrences in a file with a string using Sed Post 88944 by Hema_M on Thursday 10th of November 2005 08:56:48 AM
Old 11-10-2005
Help needed - Replacing all date & time occurrences in a file with a string using Sed

Hi,
I am new to using Sed. I have a file containg lines like the following:

INFORM----Test.pc:168:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here..

TRACE-----Test.pc:197:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here..

My requirement is to replace 10/11/05 12:34:26 with a string <RUNDATE> (including < & >).

Can anyone help me how to acheive this using Sed? I need this urgently..

I have tried this:
cat test.result | sed -e 's/[A-Z,a-z,-,_]\.pc[0-9,-,_]/\[A-Z,a-z,-,_]\.pc\<RUNDATE\>/' > test.result.tmp

But, it's not working.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file creation date & time

Hi All, I have some files which are creates every day using a script. I want to create a log files which does write "filename,creation day and time" how can I do this ?? Alice (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: alisevA3
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Inserting Date&Time Stamp In Existing Log File

I am trying to insert a line with a date stamp in a file that is used to monitor activity in one of our directories. By doing this, I want to grep that file each day and go to the last entry for each time a error occurred and pull all errors generated if any exist. If error exists I want that error... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: shephardfamily
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem to add the string(without sed & awk) into the middle of file