Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Placing a IP ban
Special Forums Cybersecurity Placing a IP ban Post 8822 by LivinFree on Thursday 18th of October 2001 07:48:14 AM
Old 10-18-2001
If you are using inetd to launch your tcpd processes, you can use the /etc/hosts.deny file.

The question is though, if the person shouldn't be able to log in, why not disable the account? Most likely he either has now or could easily get a dial-up account where the IP changes. That won't be easy to keep up with...

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Placing lines file in array

Hiya I am fairly new to UNIX and have been asked to write some scripts.... I am working in the korn shell. What I am trying to do is to go through a delimited file: Testingline1;test;test Testingline2;test;test and place the lines into an Array so: Array = Testingline1;test;test Array... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ThomasvdH
4 Replies

2. Solaris

Placing a config file

Hi all, I need to place a custom configuration file for a script/program that will likely be sitting in /usr/sbin, but I am unsure of exactly where to place it. In RHEL was told the config file should be in /etc/sysconfig, but no such directory exists in Solaris. Will my config file simply sit... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rocket2DMn
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Placing a comment at the beginning of a line

Hello - I am running Linux. I want to place a comment char at the beginning of a line in a file. For example: testvar=`grep username /etc/people sed -e 's/$testvar/#$testvar/g' /etc/people I cannot get the above commands to put a comment at the beginning of the line. Any... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mlike
3 Replies

4. Solaris

Invalid configuration for instance svc:/application/x11/xvnc-inetd:default, placing i