Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Is UNIX hardware sensitive?
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Is UNIX hardware sensitive? Post 87504 by needhelp38 on Monday 24th of October 2005 10:04:43 PM
Old 10-24-2005
Is UNIX hardware sensitive?

Our server at work is a UNIX SCO system. The motherboard in the server went bad, and since the machine (IBM 300GL) is outdated, the PC repair place can't get a part to fix it. They told us that we can have our hard drive (we need to save the data) moved to a new machine, but they are unsure if moving the hard drive will cause it to crash, like Windows XP does.

Does anyone know if the hard drive will crash if it is moved, or will it be safe?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX Hardware Recommendations pls

Hello, I'm a Computer Engineering student at Portland State University and am seriously trying to broaden my horizons in UNIX. My goal is to eventually become an excellent sys admin, but alas...I'm just starting off on this path. I am relatively new (though not unexposed) to UNIX and... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cyron5
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix user ID's case-sensitive?

It has been quite a while since I used UNIX. I am developing a security system and I was wondering if UNIX and/or LINUX user ID's are case-sensitive. i.e. can user 'daveb' and 'Daveb' exist on the same system with completely different authorizations/priorities, etc.? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dmilleville
3 Replies

3. AIX

AIX and SUN unix commands for hardware monitoring

Hello again, I would like to know if the following commands: diag, errpt, lscfg, lspv, lsvg, lsps, lslv for AIX and prtdiag, psrinfo, sysdef for SUN are native to these systems or if they are in fact scripts that are added after the unix installation. Thank you in advance. Have a nice day (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: VeroL
4 Replies