Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users batch file equivalent for Unix Post 86272 by megastar on Wednesday 12th of October 2005 06:10:08 PM
Old 10-12-2005
batch file equivalent for Unix

i was trying to do a simple batch file equivalent in Unix

when i write a single command in a file, give executable permissions and run it (i gave the file name as a command at the prompt), it works fine.
but when i have more than 1 command, say my file has

a.out
ls
ls
a.out

it doesnt recognize any of the commands. any suggestions ....
do i need to do in different way? please help

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX Batch FTP Command file

Hello, I am a UNIX newbie and this is my first posting. I need to create a batch command file to ftp from Sun/Solaris to AS/400. Here is an example file: ftp -d -i -n -v 172.28.16.22 pwd ls binary quit This is the result of executing the command file: Connected to... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: pietro
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can I run scripts in my unix account from batch file in Windows?

Hi all, I'm working on Windows, connecting to my Unix account by different ways: by FTP opening files in UltraEdit32, by mapping drive to browse, by Exceed or Telnet to compile at Unix account. Actually, that is what I would like to change: I'd like to make a batch file which would connect to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: olgafb
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

IsDBCSLeadByteEx equivalent for unix

I am using IsDBCSLeadByteEx for windows, i would like to know whether there is any equivalent function in unix(linux) platform. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: anjan_kumar_k
1 Replies

4. Programming

IsDBCSLeadByteEx equivalent for unix

I am using IsDBCSLeadByteEx for windows, i would like to know whether there is any equivalent function in unix(linux) platform. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: anjan_kumar_k