Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: ssh - rm failing
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting ssh - rm failing Post 85007 by shihabvk on Friday 30th of September 2005 02:27:28 AM
Old 09-30-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by blowtorch
If you have to supply full path, that is because the PATH variable does not have the required directories. Try running the following command:
Code:
ssh user@domain echo $PATH

The PATH is set properly
an I am able to execute the same command without absolute path from the server

Quote:
Originally Posted by blowtorch
Another thing, why are you doing an echo and piping the output to xargs, wont just /bin/rm ${DelFiles} do the job as well?
Actually why I did is , the number of arguments to rm will be more.. so it was giving error
so the final command is like this

ssh USer/Pwd@Domain echo ${DelFiles} \| /bin/xargs -n 20 /bin/rm

Shihab

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

dd command failing

I am new to HP-UX. I have an 8GB drive that is my root drive, contained in a Volume Group. I would like to clone that drive to another drive, which is 18.4GB. The other drive is not in a volume group. I am using this simple command:# dd if=/dev/dsk/c0t6d0 of=/dev/dsk/c0t5d0The command... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: emsecrist
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

IF condition failing in a SSH script

Hi, I'm ssh-in to a remote machine (ubuntu) and trying to execute a little script in there.The script looks like this: ssh user@ubuntu <<EOF cd ~/test ls -l echo "Continue counting files starting with a`s ?" read answer if then ls -l a* else exit fi EOF Now everything works... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: rubionis
9 Replies

3. AIX

failing drive