Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to get month last date in unix Post 84859 by matrixmadhan on Thursday 29th of September 2005 05:35:24 AM
Old 09-29-2005
try this,

cal <month> <year> | sed '/^$/d' | tail -1 | awk '{printf $NF}'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I set my date in a unix script to 'new month

Hi, I'm a newbie to unix and i'm loving every bit of it. I need assistance in setting my date function in my script to "new month". What I want to do is define the "newmonth" as the 1st of every month so my script can run by this time evry month through the year. Can someone assist. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Agent704
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

yesterday date month/date

Hi expert, I want to retrieve yesterday su log. How to calculate and assign variable value ( 06/23 ) in myVariable ? #!/bin/sh myVariable=yesterday date in month/date cat /var/adm/sulog | grep $myVariable > file.txt many thanks! (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: skully
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pass the first date and last date of previous month

Hi All, I need to run a job every month at the beginning of the month which is scheduled through autosys, lets say on 03/01/2010. I need to pass the last month's i.e February's first_date = 02/01/2010 and last_date = 02/28/2010 as variables to a stored procedure. Can somebody please pass... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vigdmab
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

print previous month (current month minus 1) with Solaris date and ksh

Hi folks month=`date +%m`gives current month Howto print previous month (current month minus 1) with Solaris date and ksh (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: slashdotweenie
7 Replies

5. AIX

Get Next month in AIX from curent date in unix AIX