Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Variable containing spaces
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Variable containing spaces Post 81329 by vgersh99 on Thursday 18th of August 2005 10:39:55 AM
Old 08-18-2005
ls "$PATH_LOG"
cat "$PATH_LOG"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Strip leading and trailing spaces only in a shell variable with embedded spaces

I am trying to strip all leading and trailing spaces of a shell variable using either awk or sed or any other utility, however unscuccessful and need your help. echo $SH_VAR | command_line Syntax. The SH_VAR contains embedded spaces which needs to be preserved. I need only for the leading and... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jerardfjay
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

appending spaces to a variable

Hi All, I have a requirement, in which i have to append some spaces to the variable, and then send it to another function. I am new to the UNIX shell programming. Ultimately the length of the string should be 40 characters. exp: Login = "rallapalli" (length = 10) i have to append 30 spaces to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rallapalli
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding spaces for a variable value

Hi, i have to form the header and add fillers(spaces) to it. I have done something like this. i have added 10 spaces at the end HDR="AAAABBBBCCNN " echo $HDR >> file1.dat but the spaces are not being stored in the file. How to add the spaces. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dnat
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Triming spaces for any variable

Hi, I want to trim the spaces on left side of the variable value. For eg: if it is 4 spaces followed by value, All the spaces on the left should be supressed. Easy but want it quickly. Regards, Shiv@jad (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shiv@jad
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Spaces in a rsync variable