Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Stick with Solaris 10 or try something else? Post 81254 by Filth Pig on Wednesday 17th of August 2005 04:18:33 PM
Old 08-17-2005
Stick with Solaris 10 or try something else?

Hello. New to the forum here. I was wondering if I could get some input from those who use Linux/Unix based operating systems exclusively.

I use Solaris 10 here at work, while it was confusing at first (terminal commands and such,) I am quickly adapting to it. At home, I use Windows XP Professional.

I'm ready for a change at home.

I mainly use my computer for general internet use, listening to music and some gaming mixed in here and there.

Should I stick with Solaris 10 or is there something more interesting to play around with? Keep in mind, I'm pretty new to this stuff - so compiling applications is something I've never done before. I like to try new things though, so I'm up for the task.

Any input is appreciated. Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

crontab does not stick

When I do crontab cronfile and then checks crontab -l everything looks good. The cronjobs are there as they should. Then I leave it, hoping it to stop a process at 11.30 pm and start it up again at 06.00 am. When I am back in the morning, if I then do crontab -l, it is empty. And nothing... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lulle
4 Replies

2. Linux

bootable USB Stick || Fedora 8

Hello Everybody I am planning to install Fedora core 8 on an extra PC I have; what I wanna do is to boot from a USB stick then install Fedora from an ISO image I already have via FTP. Could any one tell me how to create bootable USB Stick for Fedora as I already found how to install from FTP... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ahmed_nasr2001
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Aix usb stick