Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: memory stack problem
Top Forums Programming memory stack problem Post 80642 by mbb on Wednesday 10th of August 2005 10:02:44 AM
Old 08-10-2005
Memory problems are always a bugger to find, usually because the point of failure is not the fault, the fault lies elsewhere in your code.

One thing you can try - which is rather crude - is to comment out lines of code, recompile and run. If you continue to comment out lines of code sooner or later you will comment out the faultly line of code and the problem goes away.

In my own experience once you have identified the line of code causing your problem, a fix is not far behind.

This method has its limitations, of course, but it may help.

MBB

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

stack problem

Hi, I'm a complete beginner at all this business so any help is appreciated. I have a script (not written by me) which I need to modify. My problems is.... tail -1c $file .... I understand this will return the final character of the $file variable. I need to make it return the first... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mastaCow
4 Replies

2. Programming

how to round up a memory address(memory alignment problem)

Hi, I try to marshal a unsigned int and a char * into a buffer, and then unmarshal them later to get them out. I need to put the char * in the front and unsigned int at the end of the buffer. However, my system always give me "BUS ERROR". I am using Sun Sparcs Sloris 2.10. My code to marshal... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nj302
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

memory stack

Hello everbody: when issuing the ulimit -a, on my tru64 machone, I get the following: root@billing4# ulimit -a time(seconds) unlimited file(blocks) unlimited data(kbytes) 10485760 stack(kbytes) 32768 memory(kbytes) 10190528 coredump(blocks) 0... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aladdin
1 Replies

4. Programming