Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers command for copy file from CD to Linux box Post 80485 by 98_1LE on Monday 8th of August 2005 06:09:30 PM
Old 08-08-2005
If this is the file you want to copy:
/path/to/some/file

And you want to put it in:

/some/random/directory

Use:
cp /path/to/some/file /some/random/directory

If you want to rename file to newfile, use:
cp /path/to/some/file /some/random/directory/newfile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copy file from unix box to other

Hi all, I am new to UNIX. I have to copy a .ksh file from the production box PEDFX to test box BREMTX. Can anyone please suggest how I do this? I have CRT loaded on my system. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: FORUM
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to Reboot a linux box from a windows box

HI All, I need a script to reboot a linux box from a windows box. The script needs to run automatically whenever a sitescope alerts with an error message. Have searched for this in the forums, but could not get something relative. Pls. let me know the various alternatives we have to do... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Crazy_murli
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I need an scp command from a unix box to a windows box.

scp file="myfile.txt" todir="user@somehost:(M:drive:/somepath/)"/ Not sure I need it to go to a specific drive on the windows box (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: xgringo
1 Replies

4. Solaris

Need to copy printers from Sol8 box to Sol10 box-No luck so far

I need to copy the printers currently installed on a Sol8 box to a Sol10 box. I tried copying the printers.conf file from the Sol8 box and that worked until I went through the file and changed the server name to that of the Sol10 box. Another post on this forum suggested copying the entire... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: todis
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers