Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: memory stack problem
Top Forums Programming memory stack problem Post 80456 by jim mcnamara on Monday 8th of August 2005 01:25:09 PM
Old 08-08-2005
I think data adjacent to the pointer is overwriting the pointer in question - it's a so-called one-off error. One byte off - you are writing the LSB of a longword pointer.

The only way to fix this is to get into gdb, then examine the pointer after every line
of code is executed - just after you load the struct in get_dsp_data.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

stack problem

Hi, I'm a complete beginner at all this business so any help is appreciated. I have a script (not written by me) which I need to modify. My problems is.... tail -1c $file .... I understand this will return the final character of the $file variable. I need to make it return the first... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mastaCow
4 Replies

2. Programming

how to round up a memory address(memory alignment problem)

Hi, I try to marshal a unsigned int and a char * into a buffer, and then unmarshal them later to get them out. I need to put the char * in the front and unsigned int at the end of the buffer. However, my system always give me "BUS ERROR". I am using Sun Sparcs Sloris 2.10. My code to marshal... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nj302
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

memory stack

Hello everbody: when issuing the ulimit -a, on my tru64 machone, I get the following: root@billing4# ulimit -a time(seconds) unlimited file(blocks) unlimited data(kbytes) 10485760 stack(kbytes) 32768 memory(kbytes) 10190528 coredump(blocks) 0... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aladdin
1 Replies

4. Programming

what is stack winding and stack unwinding

helo can u tell me what do you mean by stack winding and stack unwinding Regards, Amit (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: amitpansuria
2 Replies

5. HP-UX

Problem with stack overflow