Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Korn vs Bash
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Korn vs Bash Post 7777 by jpprial on Tuesday 2nd of October 2001 02:09:58 AM
Old 10-02-2001
Korn vs Bash

Let's say I have
Code:
alias good_op=`[[ "$sign" = "+" || "$sign" = "-" ]]`

in a Korn shell script. How can I write that in a non-interactive bash shell?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

korn syntax

Hi, how do I write this condition in korn shell: file="*.html" if then echo "$file" fi I am trying to find all html files from a input text file that were created today and ftp them to a different server. please help. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sajjad02
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Korn Shell

Hi I am new to shell programming. I need help to write a script to monitor a process on Sun OS. If the process fails then call a oracle procedure. i check the process if running by typing ps -ef | grep ESP | grep -v grep root 29002 1 0 Mar 18 ? 7:20... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gpanesar
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

korn shell to bash - statement not working

Everything else seems to be working, but this isn't. Is it the "cat..." that is wrong of the condition? Thanks. cat tc_result.txt | while read LINE do if then let "files_run += 1"; echo "inside the if loop" # save current filetype case $LINE... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: brdholman
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Korn vs. Bash - which to use

Hello: I'm a newbie to Unix/Linus and shell scripting. This is probably a stupid question but here goes. Some people at work use Korn for scripting while others use Bash. What is the difference between the two? If the two is better to use? When a person logs in, one will type... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: hbradshaw
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

korn shell