Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Commands and Command Line Flags Post 77577 by Kedgeboy on Monday 11th of July 2005 08:47:47 AM
Old 07-11-2005
Commands and Command Line Flags

Hello

I'm very new to unix, am learning it as part of my new job.

I have a book which has a list in the back, of a number of commands and their command line flags, detailing what these flags are used for.

I've been looking everywhere for an electronic copy of this type of list, so I can print it out and write some notes on it. Does anyone have a copy (or know where I can get one) of a similar list?

Hope that made sense, and I'm sorry if this has been posted in the wrong forum.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

if flags

Hi folks. I'm just starting to teach myself shell scripting and am having some trouble with an if statement. I am working with a directory where only one file will reside at a time and need to evaluate if this file is compressed to determine subsequent steps. I'm using echo for testing purposes.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kristy
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

two commands on 1 line

wuts the command that allows u to use 2 commands on one line? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: el_soldado
2 Replies

3. UNIX and Linux Applications

Running oracle commands Directly from Command Line

In mysql, I can get what I want from a database without having to log into mysql. works great for me and it is perfect. now, i want to be able to do the same in oracle but I dont know how to. For example, if i want to retrieve information from the mysql database from the command line, i issue... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: SkySmart
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do you use UNIX commands in the Windows Command Line?