Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Dont know what I'm doing wrong with useradd Post 77520 by d11wtq on Sunday 10th of July 2005 10:41:21 AM
Old 07-10-2005
Dont know what I'm doing wrong with useradd

Hi,

Just got a dedicated server account for web hosting. I have some linux experience since the past 3 months I've been using SuSE and aint even touvhed windows but now I know I've relied too much on KDE's friendly tools to do some of the admin stuff.

I'm trying to add a user from the root account using SSH. I want this user to be in the group "users".

This is what I'm doing:

Code:
useradd -d /home/d11wtq -m -s /bin/bash -e 2010-07-10 -g users -p mypass d11wtq

It all *appears* to go okay so I try

Code:
ssh d11wtq@localhost

It asks me for my password as expected then pauses and asks me again, after 3 attempts it just says session inactive and throws me out (like the password is wrong).

Could somebody explain where I'm going wrong here? I feel like such a n00b now Smilie

Cheers,

d11

(Do I need to do something else before the user "d11wtq" can use SSH?)

EDIT | If it helps this a Gentoo Linux server

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

useradd

I work on some hp ux 11.00 Servers. i have to add an user. i use the useradd command like follows: useradd -u 72022 -g 71095 -c " comment " -d /PACKAGE_NAME/home/username -s /usr/bin/sh username The command returns with error 3. The manpage means value number 3: Invalid argument supplied to an... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ortsvorsteher
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

useradd

Hi. due to some needs i gave a user the premission to use useradd command with sudo. i want to know if there is a way to let him set the initial password, without giving him the premission to use passwd command as root (sudo). maybe a way to set a default password for all the new users that... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dorilevy