Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Decompression with Cygwin
Special Forums Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions Decompression with Cygwin Post 77272 by noob1021 on Wednesday 6th of July 2005 04:33:49 PM
Old 07-06-2005
Decompression with Cygwin

I am having some trouble decompressing a tar.bz2 with Cygwin. Is it even possible to do this? I am new to Unix so I have no idea.

I downloaded GCC on my Windows machine (gcc-3.4.4.tar.bz2) and I've been trying to decompress and install it. Is cygwin this best way to decompress on a windows machine? Are there better ways?

Thanks,
Matt

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Decompression utility

I am looking for an unzip application that can handle Unix .z files, but from a Windows environment AND has a command-line prompt. Anybody know of anything? TIA, H2M3 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: H2M3
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

GNU tar automatic gz detection/decompression

I stumbled on this feature on a SLES10 system yesterday... if you tar tf filename.tar.gz or tar xf filename.tar.gz it automatically gunzips the data for you. Has this feature been around for a while? I have 1.12 on my system, which doesn't, but the 1.20 manual mentions it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Annihilannic
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compression and decompression in the same script

Hi Guys, I'm just wondering how to compress and decompress a file in the same script using multiple programs, and can it be done in one line? e.g gzip file && gunzip file bzip2 file && bunzip file I tried this and a few other combinations but it doesn't seem to work. Any... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Spaulds
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Anyone else use Cygwin?