Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers text formating/Text space padding Post 76558 by vino on Wednesday 29th of June 2005 06:49:08 AM
Old 06-29-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahul123_libra
echo " Name Time Size "

Inside the for loop try this :-

ls -lrt $file | awk '{print $9; print $8; print $5}' | tr '\n\ ' '
echo " "

where file is the file retrieved from the loop
Why the tr after the awk and also the multi - print's?

Code:
ls -lrt $file | awk '{print $9 "\t" $8 "\t" $5}'

Thats a tab-delimited output.

Not tested tho'.

vino

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Formating text from a script into a log file

Using a for loop I am able to get the following log file below. I would like o change the format a bit as is indicated lower down. I have looked at awk and sed but somehow is not getting any joy. I am a bit new to ksh scripting. Please assist. This is the format of my current log file after the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hugow
1 Replies

2. Forum Support Area for Unregistered Users & Account Problems

Formating mailx text file for Lotus Notes users

We use AIX mailx or sendmail. How can I format a text file so that lotus notes users can see diferent fonts and highlighting. Or can a gif file (company logo..) be sent along with a text file and the Lotus notes user would see the logo and text displayed at the same time and not as an attachment? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: lidoiwo
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

batch formating filenames with zero padding

My little script for producing pseudo random file names works OK; but I need the file names to be formatted with zero padding, probably %05d here's the script so far #!/bin/bash ls *.jpg > list for i in `cat list` do rnd=$RANDOM mv "$i" "$rnd" done I've been trying printf but can't... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: platz
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting