Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris problem in changing the NIS passwd Post 76547 by syzhh on Wednesday 29th of June 2005 04:20:17 AM
Old 06-29-2005
try to do the followings

after change the /etc/passwd or /etc/shadows, try to do the followings:

1、 cd /var/yp
2、/usr/ccs/bin/make

these 2 steps can update the "nis maps", try to do so. Call ,and tell me the result. bye!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Password Changing With NIS

SCO OpenServer 5.05 Has anyone ever received this error when attempting to change/assign a user password? #ypasswd ======================================= yppasswd: (host name) is not running yppasswd daemon Password request denied. Reason: Remote password change request denied.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gseyforth
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Problem in changing password in NIS

Hi, I need help urgently. I've been running NIS for 4 years without problem. And just two weeks ago, all my users are unable to change their password which never happens before. When we issue passwd or yppasswd, this is what we get passwd : Changing password for Jennifer Enter existing... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jennifer
2 Replies

3. Solaris

NIS Problem

I'm having an issue with NIS. I run the following: ./nisclient -i -d XXX.XXXX.XXX -h XXXX-XXXX Everytime I do this with both my master and slave servers up and running and I go to reboot my client the client will hang after starting RPCBIND, and NIS Cachemanager. If I take my slave NIS... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: buckhtr77
1 Replies

4. AIX

new password not available on nis client for up to 10 minutes after yppush passwd

Hi, We are currently in the process to move the user authentication for our AIX clients to a Windows 2003 server to authenticate them against the active directory entries. What we have so far: - NIS master server on Windows 2003 Server with the unix-subsystem installed -> This is managing... (1 Reply)