Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: group by in files :-)
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers group by in files :-) Post 75682 by vgersh99 on Tuesday 21st of June 2005 11:59:46 AM
Old 06-21-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellsd
you are the best
take a number....
glad to be of help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

listing sequential files as one group...

Hi, I posted this over at Macnn and was redirected here... I'm not a unix programmer at all, but I have some backup if needed. Thanks in advance for any input. Is there a command for the osX terminal that will list sequentially numbered groups of file as one line instead of individually,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kentm
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

uncompress a group of files

i have some 100's of files in the format .tar.gz. how to uncompress them in a single shot i have sorted the files according to current date and now they reside in a dir called naveed1. cd naveed1 ls -ltr file1.tar.gz file2.tar.gz : : : file100.tar.gz how to uncompresse them in... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: ali560045
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help in remove group of files

i have some 350 files in a dir: i want to remove them in one shot, ls -ltr | grep 'Sep 15' | head -350 the above command gives me those 350 files i need to remove them,how to implement remove logic here in this command? i can get those 350 files using the above command only and therefore... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ali560045
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find all files with group read OR group write OR user write permission

I need to find all the files that have group Read or Write permission or files that have user write permission. This is what I have so far: find . -exec ls -l {} \; | awk '/-...rw..w./ {print $1 " " $3 " " $4 " " $9}' It shows me all files where group read = true, group write = true... (5 Replies)