Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: user Id vs Password
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers user Id vs Password Post 7406 by Cerberus on Wednesday 26th of September 2001 03:00:46 AM
Old 09-26-2001
user Id vs Password

Hello out there in unix.com land. I am Cerberus and this is my first post. I am brand new to Unix and i have a quesiton for you all.

Relating to the Unix Password File Setup, what is:

User ID?
Password?

any insite comparing one to the other as far as specifics would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You
Cerberus

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Can't change password for a user

All, I am unable to change a password for the user called : poller I am logged in as root When I do the following command passwd poller New Password: Permission denied Whe i enter the new password, it gives the above error. When i log in as poller and then execute the command, then... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rahulrathod
2 Replies

2. AIX

changing user password

I have 02 servers: - Linux RHEL AS 3 (server1) - AIX 5.2 (server2) Running the command rsh server2 passwd derje from the server1 to change derje user password on server2, give me this error: 3004-709 Error while changing the password for "derje" Can somebody help me ? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mayge
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

password verification verify password of a user for only first 8 characters

Helo , I m using linux pam library for user and its password authentication. I m creating new user and giving its password.I m giving password of 10 characters.now when I login in as that newly created user its ask me $ su - ram Password: You are required to change your password immediately... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: amitpansuria
12 Replies

4. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

root user and password