Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers inetd problems?!?!?! - Help complete newbee!!! Post 739 by d_cottam on Sunday 14th of January 2001 08:06:26 PM
Old 01-14-2001
Question Still Stuck...

Alright, I've edited the hosts file in /etc and the computer is now visible on the network at startup Smilie

Unfortunately I'm still getting the following errors:

At startup:

The system is coming up...
sylog service starting
sylogd: line 23: WARNING: loghost could not be resolved
The system is ready

After the login prompt appears the inetd error messages start up again:

inetd [102]: 100232/rpc/udp version 10: rpcb_set: not started

I don't think the loghost is too much of a problem but I'm worried about the inetd problems as there is a service that should be running (ExtraWEB) that I should be able to connect to via a admin tool on my PC but it is unable to find it... any ideas what could be causing them and how to fix it?

On a side note there was originally no keyboard or monitor plugged into the box but if I try to disconnect the keyboard now it beeps and says: Type 'go' to resume and dissapears from the network until a keyboard is plugged back in and 'go' is typed in... Any ideas how to get it back to the original state?

Thanks in advance.

Dan

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newbee - copy data from UNIX to Linux

I have to setup a new server (linux) and I have to copy the data from the old unix system to the new one. Can I access the unix data in dos? Please help. I know little about linux and unix (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: steven5046
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

refreshing inetd

Hi I have a question, what is the purpose of this command and what will it do "refresh -s inetd" Thanks in Advance Swaraj (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kswaraj
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Newbee :-)