Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: daemon scripts
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting daemon scripts Post 73394 by tom_xx_hu@yahoo on Tuesday 31st of May 2005 11:15:55 PM
Old 06-01-2005
In many ways, daemon is similar to background process without controlling terminal. However, there are more implications for a daemon: almost idle if no request to work on, listen to (actually, waken by via sth else) a request coming from either a TCP/UDP port, or a signal, multithread or multiprocess based application.

So simply saying making a script a daemon may not make sense in many scenarios. Due to the nature of daemon, people rarely uses script to write a daemon application.

Hope it clarifies,

Tom

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Daemon, scripts and processes

Hi, I am new to the world of Unix, I need some help in doing a small project at work. Can anyone point out any good references for the below functions? Objective --------- To write a daemon that will run in the central server to 1) access our process(I will find this out), log down... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: seongyin
1 Replies

2. Programming

Daemon

i want to write a daemon service which listens the 8080 port and write down all the details in one file. How can i do this ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: santosh123
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Profile scripts versus rc scripts....

what is the difference between login and profile scripts versus the rc scripts? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rookie22
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Script using rsh and scripts within scripts

Hi, I've written a script that runs on a Database server. It has to shutdown the Application server, do an Oracle Dump and then restart the Application server. Its been a long time since I wrote any shells scripts. Can you tell me if the scripts that I execute within my script will be executed... (3 Replies)