Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Testing ssh connection from KSH script Post 73392 by tom_xx_hu@yahoo on Tuesday 31st of May 2005 11:00:54 PM
Old 06-01-2005
It seems to me different issues Dylan and Bakunin are talking about.

Dylan's concern is how to verify the remote service (sshd, specifically) is alive before trying to request the service. This can be done by Nagios script, check_ssh.

Bakunin's question is more complicated. You may need google "sshd key without password host authentication". There are hundreds of postings/docs explaining this.

Cheers,
Tom

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remote SSH Connection Using Script

Hi, I am new to Shell Scripting. Can anybody help me in writing a Script Which Could Login from a Unix box to a Remote Unix box which accepts the user credentials automatically and display the result for checking the Disk Space Utilisation (Without running any SSH agent). (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ajith_tg
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ssh connection script

Hi all, I'm writing a script that chooses the best computer available in an open lab. The script works great except every now and then there is a dead computer in the lab that begins the ssh handshaking, but freezes after the following: debug1: Offering public key: When the script happens... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: x-375HK-x
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Testing success of AWK code in KSH script

I need a bit of help here on something simple. I have a KSH script (must be KSH) that needs to change 2 positional variables in a CSV script. The CSV script looks like this: 00001,010109,01/01/2009 00:01:01 00008,090509,09/05/2009 13:47:26 My AWK script will change $2 and $3 based... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kretara
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Testing connection with a script