Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Using UNIX as a router
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using UNIX as a router Post 7250 by e980238 on Friday 21st of September 2001 04:13:47 PM
Old 09-21-2001
Using UNIX as a router

Is there a way that i can create some start up disks for a computer with no hard drive to become a router? I know there are types of Linux OS's that can do it but i dont know which ones they are or where i can get them from. I am very new to the UNIX/Linux thing so I thank you for any help.

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

Software Router for Unix

Dear Users: I'm trying to find a software based Unix Router. I only want to bridge two subnets, and I'm not trying to share an internet connection. Ultimately, I'm looking for the sourcecode so that I can compile it for Mac OS X, which is the machine that the we want the router to run on. I'd... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: emulator
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

UNIX scripts for router

Hi, I want to write a script in unix for my routers which will collect the output to a file.. how do i do that? thanks in advance (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pasandhu
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX as ROUTER

dear all, hi... my name rian, i have some problem here, i'm trying to make router on UNIX machine, is there anyone know how to make it....... :confused: please let me know about the step.... thanks before.. cheers Rian (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: afriansyah
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Remote Unix printing to my WinXP works with no router. How can I make it work through my router?

I set up remote printing on a clients Unix server to my Windows XP USB printer. My USB printer is connected directly to my PC (no print server and no network input on printer). With my Win XP PC connected to my cable modem (without the router), i can do lp -dhp842c /etc/hosts and it prints. I... (7 Replies)