Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix Command for finding Nul Characters Post 70526 by fundidor on Saturday 30th of April 2005 10:21:29 AM
Old 04-30-2005
Unix Command for finding Nul Characters

Hi Folks,

I have this windowed applescript application I use for sending out emails, it uses the Postfix daemon buit into my Mac Os X box, and a 3 SMTP servers (out of hundreds I send emails to) were refusing my messages replying "host smtp2.braspress.com.br[200.187.158.140] said: 550 Requested action not taken: NUL characters are not allowed. (in reply to end of DATA command)"

As a novice high-level programmer, I did not know that every character is represented by a hex value, and that I had two "gremlins" in my Template text (used to send out the emails after text manipulation), I mean, I had two hex values = 00.

A experienced Objective C programmer, friend of mine, taught me the what these Nul characters are and helped me removing these from my text. I was using a text application that did not show me the little gremlins.

As I move on forward with my learning, I am wondering if there is a Unix command I can use to detect these Gremlins, and so create a routine in my application to check the consistency of any text I use for sending out emails.

I thank you for your comments,

Bernardo Höhl
Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

finding exact characters

I want to grep from a file an exact character match. I tried grep -c "$a $b" $file where a=6 and b=2 the problem is that I get: 6 2 and 6 20 I just need a count of the occurrence. I'm using the Bourne shell. I've also tried grep -c '$a $b' $file; not sure how to do this - any suggestions? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jrdnoland1
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replacing a nul field with text