Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Checking and chaning directory permissions automatically Post 70511 by apachi on Friday 29th of April 2005 03:03:13 PM
Old 04-29-2005
Checking and chaning directory permissions automatically

Hi all,
My first post here.

I need a small script to check the directory permssions on my /home/uploads and if there are any newly created directory in uploads chmod them to 1777.

The upload directory is for my users who upload their pictures and I by default their directories are given 755. I dont' want to use umask as uploads is the only directory to be checked.

Does anyone know/have a bash script for doing this?
I'd appreciate any help. I've done my search but found nothing.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

checking file's permissions and change them

Hi all, I am very new to UNIX and Shell scripting, I need to run a script to check for file's and directoires permissions and change the permissions if necessary. I appreciate your help.. Thanks (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: K-ONE
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing files automatically from a directory after 30 days.

Hello; I have a directory that is collecting log and act files. I need to write a script that will remove these files once they are 30 days old. I have read through a number of threads on this site that have given me a great deal of information. However I have what seems to be a unique... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: justinb_155
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

determine owner directory permissions from within the directory

From within a directory, how do I determine whether I have write permission for it. test -w pwd ; echo ? This doesn't work as it returns false, even though I have write permission. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sniper Pixie
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

checking for permissions of a file