Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Directory find in small and capitals Post 6972 by nitin on Monday 17th of September 2001 01:29:39 AM
Old 09-17-2001
Directory find in small and capitals

I've a very trivial thing bothering me. I'm rather new in scripting so I'll keep asking stupid questions.
Here is small script that does backup of mails.
---
for i in `cat /maildir.dir`
do
echo $i
maildir=`echo $i|sed 's@^./usr/@@'`
for j in $i/*
do
[ -d "$j/backup" ] && {
st="`find $j/backup -name "[0-9]*" -type f -print|head -1|wc -l`"
It searches for mails in backup folder of all the users. Once in a while a user will use capital letters ('BACKUP' or 'Backup') in the name. How do I make sure that all sorts of such names must be included in my backup thingy?
Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to find a file named vijay in a directory using find command

I need to find whether there is a file named vijay is there or not in folder named "opt" .I tried "ls *|grep vijay" but it showed permission problem. so i need to use find command (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: amirthraj_12
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to find a string in a directory/sub-directory

I'm trying to find this string 'preparing string IBE_Quote_W1_Pvt.SaveWrapper for quote_header_id’ in my Apache log file directory. The log file that contains this string may be in a parent direcotry or a sub-directory. I have tried 'grep' and 'awk' with no success. I would like to get the path... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gross
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

[[HelloInCapitals]] to [[Hello In Capitals]]

Hello community, I got it all done except for one thing, ] or ] So now I want to split those in to ] or ] I am not so good at all this and get stuck with sed -e 's// &/g' -e 's/.../ &/g' -e 's/^ //g' infile (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: externalaw
11 Replies