Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Limiting length of user in while creating user Post 69482 by Satya Mishra on Friday 15th of April 2005 02:40:42 AM
Old 04-15-2005
Hi Kduffin,

This is related to minlen for password of user but like password i want to define the length of user also.so that we define the length of user as well

any adeas regarding this please let me know

Thanks in Advance
Satya

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

creating a new user

i just installed netBSD, and i want to know how to create a new user account. i understand that netBSD doesn't come with the tools to do that, so i downloaded a user utility (mebbe i'm wrong about netBSD) but the problem is, i don't know how to read files off floppy disks. (i'm quite new to unix)... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Newbie4ever
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating a fixed length output from a variable length input

Is there a command that sets a variable length? I have a input of a variable length field but my output for that field needs to be set to 32 char. Is there such a command? I am on a sun box running ksh Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: r1500
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

creating a new user

I have AIX 5.1 I have created a user manually in the /etc directory. Then I created his home directory "mkdir /home/fharvey" then I changed ownership "chown fharvey /home/fharvey" set his password "passwd fharvey" When I log in as him I get "user is required to change password. "when I... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rocker40
7 Replies

4. AIX

Is the Length of User ID for AIX Limit to 8 Characters?

Hi, I'm using AIX version 5.3 currently. I'm trying to create a user id, e.g. andyleong, which the system prompted the length is too long. 1. I would like to know is that the length of user id is limited to maximum 8 characters for AIX. 2. Is it apply to all versions of AIX? If no... (2 Replies)