Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace spaces with 0's having numeric values. Post 69477 by Ygor on Friday 15th of April 2005 01:22:41 AM
Old 04-15-2005
I don't think you could use gsub() because you don't know the size of the replacement string. Perhaps use match() , e.g...
Code:
  BEGIN {z = "000000000000000000000"}
  {
    while(match($0, / +[0-9]/))
      $0 = substr($0,1,RSTART-1) substr(z,1,RLENGTH-1) substr($0,RSTART+RLENGTH-1)
    print
  }

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

stripping out non-numeric values in a list

hi all, i'm very new to scripting and have the folllowing issue. I have used a few commands to get a list of numbers, but I need to strip away the non-numeric ones, and then need a total of all values. any ideas? root@unixserver # cat myfile | awk '{print $8}'| sort -rn 1504 1344 896 704... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: badoshi
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove non numeric values from a variable

Hello all, I am working on a basic script but need a little help. Issue: I am running a SQL Query using sqlplus and a shell script. I have the output of the statement stored as variable $A. $A is set to "other text here 45678754 other text here". I need to strip all text except that numeric... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: ownedthawte
13 Replies

3. Programming

numeric values ending in 'U'

I am getting back on the C++ programming after many years away. I recently received an SDK that has code like this where numeric values end in 'U'. What does this mean? if ((ptr % 16U) == 0U) return buffer; (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sneakyimp
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check if the file contains only numeric values

How to check if the file contains only numeric values. I don't want to read entire file it eats lot of cpu Or any way which consumes less memory n cpu.. Please suggest -S (2 Replies)