Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers How to find no of occurances Finding average time? Post 62853 by redlotus72 on Monday 21st of February 2005 02:37:56 AM
Old 02-21-2005
How to find no of occurances Finding average time?

Hi,
I have MyLog.log file, and it contains "*** response Time 150",
I want to develop Unix script like ,
1. extract all such occurances in the MyLog.log file and
2. compute the average time taken

I am new to Unix, any one can give any idea/sample code for this?
Thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Finding Average for BST

Helo guys, this is not specifically a C programming problem for the unix platform, but a problem i came across in class: Find the average for a binary search tree: typedef Struct SNode { double value; SNode *leftChild; SNode *rightChild; } as SNode; /* * Solution 1 */ ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: heljy
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find occurances of a directory and count

I am writing my first shell script to do the following: Find all occurrences of a directory from the pwd Delete the directory (which is a hidden directory) Provide feedback w/ the number of directories deleted The problems I am having are two-fold: The user may not have the appropriate... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: stringman
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

average transaction time

Hi all, I have large daily log file(s) that hold the times for requests and responses on different system requests. What I want to do is work out average transaction times for the day (one log = one day). The problem I'm having is figuring out how to skip rows, i've sorted the output by uniq... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nhatch
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Average Time