Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Partition Hard drive
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Partition Hard drive Post 61449 by amir on Thursday 3rd of February 2005 01:52:46 PM
Old 02-03-2005
Partition Hard drive

Hello everyone.
I am new to Linux so hope some one could help me here.
I have a 30 Gb HD and windows Xp is my O/S, HD is not partitioned,but I want to Partitioned it, so I could Install Knoppix(Linux)on one of the partitioned one, how could I do this? OR should I erase every thing and then partition the HD into two parts, one for XP and one for Linux?
Most of my friends say that this is a great OS and hope to learn it soon.
Thank you

Last edited by amir; 02-03-2005 at 02:59 PM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Question About Drive Partition

I'm using PartitionMagic's wizard to partition my drive for Linux, and after I get past the first step it asks if I want to screate a seperate Linux Swap Partition. What is a Linux Swap Partition and is something I need/should have? (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tradewynd
10 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Dead partition on drive

We are still using solaris 1 with sunos 4.1.4 because nobody here knows Unix. My colleague did a backup (dump) to the wrong place (/dev/sd0h) and we lost this part of the drive. The information is still on tape but we cannot repartition the /dev/sd0h. fsck keeps on about the "wrong SUPER BLOCK"... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tom Bekaert
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Trying to copy old hard drive to new hard drive.

:confused: ........I have a new hard drive and I need to copy ALL info from the old to the new. I would like to use the dd command. I know the command is as follows...... dd if=/dev/rdsk/c1t1d0s0 of=/dev/rdsk/???????? Where I have the question marks is the problem. How do I find out what the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shorty
4 Replies