Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Fork
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Fork Post 5706 by wee on Tuesday 21st of August 2001 01:12:37 AM
Old 08-21-2001
Question Fork

Hi,
I'm new to programming under unix too, and I'm trying to implement a load balancing system for web traffic.

The idea is this,
I have a single web server running on PC A, and I have 5 other PCs (PC B - PC F) running only mysql servers. Assuming all the databases contain synchronized data, I would like to implement a database search facility where the web server receives the input, split the input keywords into single keywords and using fork() in the cgi-script, spawn multiple child processes to issue seperate queries to each of the database servers via different connection strings to receive the result.

Will this result in a much faster response time than just running a single database server and searching all the keywords serially ?
Is there a better way to do it besides forking ? What are the drawbacks of forking and implementing it this way ?

Sample code would very much be appreciated.
Thanks,
Wee

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

fork() fd

I run this code, actually I want to both processes print the message from "data". But only one does. What happens? Anyone can help? #include <stdio.h> main(){ int fd, pid; char x; fd = open("data",0); /* open file "data" */ pid = fork(); if(pid != 0){ wait(0); ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Herman
2 Replies

2. Programming

fork()

#include <stdio.h> #include <string.h> #include <sys/types.h> #define MAX_COUNT 200 #define BUF_SIZE 100 void main(void) { pid_t pid; int i; char buf; fork(); pid = getpid(); for (i = 1; i <= MAX_COUNT; i++) { sprintf(buf,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: MKSRaja
2 Replies

3. Programming

Fork or what?