Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: First Job
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? First Job Post 56681 by Perderabo on Thursday 7th of October 2004 09:43:42 PM
Old 10-07-2004
Apology accepted. Smilie

As for this thread, I'm not sure which job to mention. Smilie I was a fortran programmer long before I ever heard of unix. And even some more recent programmers may have worked on other platfoms first.

But I guess that you asked for the first unix role. I was working on an HP 1000 running RTE 6. I was mostly an assembler programmer with a little fortran. We switched to C on Unix. I liked C, but I wasn't happy about leaving RTE. But I got over it. Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

at job

How do I configure my solaris 8 machine to run a job using at scheduler, as a different user. my at job only run as a root user, but i want to configure users to run at job. I try to run a job to copy file like at "time" </copy_script but this only run, if I run as a root user. the file... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: hassan2
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

killing unix job after the job process completes

Hi, Thanks in advance. i need to kill a unix background running job after that job process completes. i can kill a job by giving the following unix command kill -9 processid how to kill the job after the current process run gets completed ? Appreciate your valuable help. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dtazv
1 Replies

3. Solaris

killing a unix job after the job process gets completed

Hi, Thanks in advance. i need to kill a unix background running job after that job process completes. i can kill a job by giving the following unix command kill -9 processid how to kill the job after the current process run gets completed ? Appreciate your valuable help. Thanks... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dtazv
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Job dependent on other job