Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Backing up or Archiving files in UNIX Post 55507 by Dsartelle on Monday 13th of September 2004 04:47:25 PM
Old 09-13-2004
Question Backing up or Archiving files in UNIX

Hi All,
I am very new to the UNIX world and find myself in a new position at work that requires me to archive large CADD files based in both UNIX and Windows environments on CD's. I have one engineer that wants to export these files as a table (I guess) and it appears to have a lot of paper trails to tie it back to a file. One wants to use the MV command and simply move the files to cd's. What are some of your recommendations?
Thanks,
Dsartelle

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with UNIX Backup/Archiving

I am doing a report for my data communications class on Mac OS X Server/UNIX and I need to know about Archiving/Backup. Is it easy? How do you do it? etc. Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: itsme
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Backing up files to a remote host question.

I need to know how to successfully back up(and compress) files from a local machine to a remote host. Will this work? tar -cvf backup.tar -C /user/somedir | gzip backup.tar | rsh some.domain.com/user/somedir thanks in advance! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: WeNdeL
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What can I ignore when backing up UNIX boxes?

Hi All, Long question and possibly a very short answer.... At work we've just got a new 3rd party backup solution (Netvault by Bakbone -it's v. nice), and I'm currently setting up my UNIX clients as part of the backup schedule. It's just occurred to me that there may be certain files or... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: geralex
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

automate backing up uploaded files