Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting xterm gives me permission denied error Post 55079 by kymberm on Wednesday 1st of September 2004 03:10:20 PM
Old 09-01-2004
xterm gives me permission denied error

When I try to run xterm at a command prompt in solaris 2.5.1, i'm getting a permission denied error. But the directory and user permissions look ok, they are part of a users group and then also root,sys,adm so what gives? Any ideas? Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

rm Permission Denied error

I am very new to Unix. We have a script that will remove files from a directory. The account removing the files has the same permissions as the directory the files are located. We have logged in as the account and deleted the files from that directory but when we run the script with the account... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cech2002
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

getcwd: permission denied error

When I do a 'cd /appl' and issue 'ls -al' command, I get the following error for .. directory. ./..: Permission denied But still I get a listing of other directories under /appl. Also, if I give 'man' for any command under this /appl folder, I get the following error: ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Deepa
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Need help with Couldn't canonicalise: Permission denied error

Hi People I am getting this error Couldn't canonicalise: Permission denied. Anyone knows what does this error mean ? It all started when my team members were testing Sftp functions on some directories and they were hitting directory no found errors within their scripts. So when we enquired... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: wilsontan
8 Replies

4. OS X (Apple)

Permission Denied Error with X11