Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers The Desktop Messaging System Could Not Be Started HP-UX Post 54746 by Perderabo on Monday 23rd of August 2004 10:39:41 AM
Old 08-23-2004
If you want /etc/hosts to work, you may need to modify the "hosts" line in /etc/nsswitch.conf. What to put depends on your setup. But maybe "files dns" would be right for you.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

DT messaging could not be started

this id the message i get with a suggestions to check those files: /etc/src.sh /etc/hosts /usr/adm/inetd.sec i have little knowledge of hoe to edit those files/ i went to the etc library and didn't found src.sh file. what should i do? also didn't find the inetd.sec file In the host... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amirp
3 Replies

2. Solaris

Solaris 10 CDE problem - The DT messaging system could not be started

A Google search with: +Solaris +"The DT messaging system could not be started" returns 138 hits. All of the relevant possible solutions are in this document. My apologies for such a long document but I thought I would try to minimize the resolution attempts that I've already tried. System... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rpollard001
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

The DT messaging system could not be started

Hello All, I am getting " The DT messaging system could not be started" message when wants to login as root on a box running on tru64 5.1A. /etc/hosts is ok. when i see in .dt/errorlog it shows message server could not be started. Thanks for help. Awadhesh (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Awadhesh
2 Replies

4. Ubuntu

How to Get Started on Ubuntu Desktop for the first time