Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users sharing a unified dbaseIII file between 4 SCO boxes Post 54262 by BAM on Saturday 7th of August 2004 03:56:19 PM
Old 08-07-2004
sharing a unified dbaseIII file between 4 SCO boxes

Hi,

I have an application which must use a unified database, the application will run on 4 SCO boxes, so the database will be in one of them and the application in the other 3 servers will access this database on the host machine. This is as a file sharing application in windows. I know this can be done using NFS/NIS in Unix. I just need a hint how/where to start.

man nfs - man nis ; both gave some info, but not helpful for my level. Any hints? A hint would be enough as I like to DIG my head to learn better.

An no this is not a homework, it is a jobwork, and i am new to unix. thanks.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

text boxes, radio buttons , check boxes in c++ on unix

Hi ! Please tell me how to get radio buttons, text boxes , check boxes , option buttons , pull down menus in C++ on Unix. I think it would be done using curses.h ..but that's all i know. TIA, Devyani. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: devy8
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file sharing

my computer and the rest of my network run Mac OS X , and i was wondering how or if your can transfer files from other computers with the Terminal. i also wanna know where i can download a free UNIX version and more on the sudo command (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pyrohotdog
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

file sharing

i want to share some file to some user of my group(there are many users in a perticular group). So how should i do that?And i m not a super user. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: yogesh_powar
5 Replies

4. IP Networking

sharing of IP address for load sharing avoiding virtual server & redirection machine