Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to backup a Sun Ultra 60 workstation? Post 53418 by PSC on Wednesday 14th of July 2004 03:41:40 PM
Old 07-14-2004
Question How to backup a Sun Ultra 60 workstation?

Hi,

I'm currently an CS intern working at a small biotech company that has just opened a new office. We are working on a new project, but we were given an older Sun workstation with just a SCSI interface in the back. We don't have a systems administrator, so a couple of us have been working hard to figure out where to start.

From what I can tell, the workstation has two 70-gig hard drives. About 120-gigs of it is mounted, but only about 6 gigs of it are in use. This, of course, will increase in the future.

Right now, we are looking into purchasing a Sun 40/80 DDS-4 Unipack Tape Drive from Sun. This is going to set the company back about $1600. This seems a little ridiculous, considering the workstation is only worth a couple hundred bucks. We've found several less costly tape drives, but they probably don't offer the support that Sun will. Is it worth paying for the support, or is there a more viable solution?

(Just in advance, there will be more questions on the actual backup procedure once we decide on one. Smilie)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SUN IPC Workstation Q

I know that there are lots of UNIX pros here so I'm asking for some help. I have recently acquired 2 SUN IPC Workstations. The stations were destined for the garbage so I was unable to talk to the owners. Neither of them will make it through the boot process. One gives an error "le0: No... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shaggy
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

MIB OID for my Sun workstation