Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting replace *.sqc files with *.sqC extension Post 50584 by zazzybob on Tuesday 27th of April 2004 05:39:39 PM
Old 04-27-2004
Still requires multiple commands, but in the Korn shell, you can do
Code:
for file in *.c; do _file=${file%%.c}.cpp; mv $file $_file; done

on a single line, although it hampers readability....

That will rename all .c files to .cpp in the current directory.

Peace,
ZB
http://www.zazzybob.com

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

Files without extension

I am brand new to hp unix systems. I see some files without extension on this system. If I type name of the file it shows me so many detail but does not take me back to command prompt. What are these files and how do I come back to command prompt? Please help (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajahindustani
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Checking files extension

Hi, I need one line command to display all files that ends with .scr. Example: In a directory I have 10 files, out of that 4 files have filetype extension .dat and 4 files with .scr and 2 files with .txt.... In this i want to display only files that ends with .scr. I tried some commands,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gwgreen1
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to compress files without extension

Could someone please help? I'm trying to compress all the files in a directory without extension. I know for typical files with extension, the command is something like: tar -zcvf file.tar.gz *.doc What is the command for files without extension? Thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: AChan1118
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace file name extension in loop